EBOOK Bound By Alan Baxter BY Alan Baxter – dugisits.co.za

SUMMARY Bound By Alan Baxter

Bound By Alan Baxter

SUMMARY Bound By Alan Baxter DOWNLOAD ✓ Bound By Alan Baxter Alan Baxter Ö 9 DOWNLOAD Alex Caine is a martial artist fighting in illegal cage matches His powerful secret weapon is an unnatural vision that allows him to see his opponents’ moves before they know their intentions themselvesAn enigmatic Englishman Patrick Welby approaches Alex after a fight and reveals ‘I know your. I picked up Bound by Alan Baxter on the recommendation of a friend I owe that friend a few drinks now Bound is about cage fighter Alex Caine a man who can see his opponents moves before they make them Following a successful fight Alex is approached by an Englishman called Welby who knows his secret and wants Alex to help him unlock the key to an ancient and powerful grimoire Drawn into a world filled with magic violence and a chaotic Fey godling called Uthentia Alex must harness his innate magical ability and fighting skills to prevent the end of the world as we know itUpon finishing Bound my first thought was damn My second thought was that if Stephen King and Jim Butcher ever had a love child then it would be Alan BaxterFinally my third thought was that Bound is a seriously entertaining readFull of dark gritty and bloody goodness Bound is possibly one of the best debut novels I ve read in many years Cracking action and dialogue propel the story along at a fast pace as the reader journeys from the cages of the underground fighting scene in Sydney to the icy wastes of Iceland I loved the fight scenes and I could tell they were written by someone who has trained extensively in hand to hand combat and martial arts I almost felt the bones being broken and smashed at times throughout the book and their realism kept me enthralled The world in which Bound is set was also gloriously gritty and full of things that go bump in the night Dark horrors exist everywhere the Three Sisters for example and the world is full of mythical and supernatural creatures such as gargoyles and the FeyAlex Caine was also a fascinating protagonist Flawed in many ways but still noble and honest he was a believable hero who I couldn t help but cheer for as the odds kept stacking up against him His rages lust frustration and mistakes throughout the story only added depth to his character and made him human His dialogue and interplay with the other characters like Silhouette throughout the novel were also loaded with wit and humour that had me chuckling well into the night The other characters and creatures in Bound were also interesting I loved the idea of the Kin and the dark horrors like the Three Sisters and the Subcontractor However the two characters I absolutely adored were the evil duo of Mr Hood and Miss Sparks and their Black Diamond Inc They are the perfect narrative foil for Alex and Silhouette and their dark and twisted relationship and actions brought a real nefarious essence to the story that was both creepy and strangely thrilling as well All in all Bound was a bloody excellent read I cannot recommend this book enough to fans of Butcher and Wendig4 out of 5 starssmashdragonsblogspotcomau

REVIEW ☆ E-book, or Kindle E-pub Ö Alan Baxter

SUMMARY Bound By Alan Baxter DOWNLOAD ✓ Bound By Alan Baxter Alan Baxter Ö 9 DOWNLOAD Secret’ Welby shows Alex how to unleash a breathtaking realm of magic and power drawing him into a mind bending adventure beyond his control And control is something Alex values above all elseA cursed grimoire binds Alex to Uthentia a chaotic Fey godling who leads him towards chaos and murder an. Originally reviewed by ML Spencer on Grimdark MagazineAlan Baxter s Bound Alex Caine Book One is a brutal story that moves at a break neck pace It s ripe with dark conflicted characters in a turbulent urban setting that has a mixture of martial arts magic and supernatural themes I definitely recommend Bound for readers who take their violence seasoned with gore sarcasm and sexIn Bound Alex Caine is a successful martial artist who makes his living clobbering opponents in the ring But all his exhaustive training hasn t prepared him for the dangerous world of magical intrigue he gets caught up in Bound to a stone relic that augments his already kick ass supernatural powers Alex finds out that far than just his own life is now at stake If he fails to conuer the stone s power and its link with an ancient evil trapped between realms then the entire world is in grave perilAlex Caine is a formidable and enjoyable protagonist whose vicious fights to the death are as exciting as they are gruesome Alex teams up with Silhouette a sexy and competent woman of the Kin a race of half vampire half were creatures Together the unlikely couple battle forces both ancient and powerful all the while struggling to keep Alex s violent new powers from consuming his mindBaxter s efficient prose never gets in the way of the story and his dialogue is vivid and dynamic I had a lot of fun reading this book It kept me hanging in there eagerly flipping pages to find out who was going to be the next brutalized victim or what twisted deed would be performed next This story packs a punch Deader Still power drawing him into a mind bending adventure beyond his control And control is something Alex values above all elseA cursed grimoire binds Alex to Uthentia a chaotic Fey godling who leads him towards chaos and murder an. Originally reviewed by ML Spencer on Grimdark MagazineAlan Baxter s Bound Alex Caine Book One is a brutal story that moves at a break neck Crosstown Crush Sins in the City #1 prepared him for the dangerous world of magical intrigue he gets caught up in Bound to a stone relic that augments his already kick ass supernatural Perempuan Pala kumpulan cerpen powers Alex finds out that far than just his own life is now at stake If he fails to conuer the stone s Dark Enchantment power and its link with an ancient evil trapped between realms then the entire world is in grave Cubicles A Novel Strivers Row perilAlex Caine is a formidable and enjoyable My Mother the Man Eater protagonist whose vicious fights to the death are as exciting as they are gruesome Alex teams up with Silhouette a sexy and competent woman of the Kin a race of half vampire half were creatures Together the unlikely couple battle forces both ancient and Shortcut powerful all the while struggling to keep Alex s violent new Secret Commandos Behind Enemy Lines with the Elite Warriors of SOG powers from consuming his mindBaxter s efficient DIY Magic prose never gets in the way of the story and his dialogue is vivid and dynamic I had a lot of fun reading this book It kept me hanging in there eagerly flipping The One Inside pages to find out who was going to be the next brutalized victim or what twisted deed would be San Francisco Surrender performed next This story Chanur's Legacy packs a Shimmering Chaos (Enchanted Chaos Series Book 2) punch

Alan Baxter Ö 9 DOWNLOAD

SUMMARY Bound By Alan Baxter DOWNLOAD ✓ Bound By Alan Baxter Alan Baxter Ö 9 DOWNLOAD Urge Alex finds harder and harder to resist Befriended by Silhouette a monstrous Kin beauty Alex sets out to recover the only things that will free him the shards of the Darak But that powerful stone also has the potential to unleash a catastrophe which could mean the end of the world as we know it. This is the first Alan Baxter book I ve picked up and I m certainly going to be back for I loved the gritty bloody dangerous world that Baxter introduces in this book Alex Caine is uickly taken from the world he knows which isn t exactly safe and wholesome him being partial to illegal cage fighting to one of magic and mortal peril populated by blood thirsty Fey and an evil Godling I enjoyed uncovering the world alongside him meeting the Clan Lords and learning about the different types of FeyI must admit that Alex took to the world too uickly and he resisted it for too long That s confusing so let me explain A stranger turns up and goes Oh Alex you know how you can read people Well that s magic Come help me with a mysterious magical task I have for you and Alex is on a plane in a few hours Of course the situation is complex than this but when we come right down to it I think Alex followed Welby too readily But this eagerness disappeared uickly when Alex was confronted with Silhouette and the truth about Fey creatures Alex had no problem believing in the magic of the book the influence that Uthentia has the powers of the Darak stone but he needed vampires and werewolves explained to him three different times Even I understood what Silhouette was saying the first time aroundOtherwise Alex Caine is a kick butt protagonist and I liked journeying all over the world with him One of my favourite things was how Alex was no longer bound by the mundane constraints we all are lack of passports money and a change of clothes didn t slow down his adventures one bit I like this because all too often readers are expected to believe in amazing magic but the characters are still concerned with relatively mundane things which doesn t make sense to meAlex becomes Bound to a cursed book early in the novel and the longer he is in possession of it the his personality and motivations change because of its evil influence Because it affects his psychology Alex begins to have difficulty differentiating between what he wants and what the book is making him do It increases the frustration anger and rage that he feels and constantly pushes him to violence Predictably he finds that Silhouette can help him channel that aggression in bed and satiate the rage but that leads to increasingly violent sexual encounters I was uncomfortable with this for many reasons but this situation was in keeping with the dark tone of this book which includes a lot of blood violence and deathIn addition to an interesting protagonist Baxter has created a varied and complex secondary cast including side kickromantic interest Silhouette and the evil duo Mr Hood and Miss Sparks Although I couldn t bring myself to like Silhouette she s entirely too predictable I did find Sparks and Hood compelling as the bad guys The relationship between the two is shown through Sparks eyes I initially thought that she either hated Hood and was waiting for an opportunity to kill him getting revenge for the depraved things he did to her or she was somehow compelled to satisfy him perhaps by magic But the reality is even stranger and I liked this aspect of the book I m disappointed that Sparks will probably not feature in the seuels although I can t say for sureI ve enjoyed Bound a lot and encourage readers who like their urban fantasy dark and gritty to pick it up Fans of Butcher and Wendig won t be disappointed I m looking forward to reading the next two books in the Alex Caine series Obsidian and Abduction which will be released soon by HarperVoyagerA copy of this book was provided by the publisher for reviewYou can read of my reviews at Speculating on SpecFic

  • Paperback
  • 352
  • Bound By Alan Baxter
  • Alan Baxter
  • English
  • 14 February 2020
  • 9780732299101